The Technologists Special Interest Group (SIG) known as the ANZSNMT exists under the umbrella of the Australian and New Zealand Society of Nuclear Medicine. The current format of the ANZSNMT was accepted via a national ballot following the Annual Scientific Meeting of the ANZSNM in Melbourne 1992.

The Society values the positive benefits of continuing education (CE) and has developed an Australian and New Zealand database of CE activity. Society members are involved in the education of undergraduates and the mentoring of recent graduates in Nuclear Medicine Technology within the clinical context.


Aims & Objectives

The Society aims to promote a high standard of clinical practice and research in the field Nuclear Medicine Science. This is aided by the development of a code of practice for its members. The Society recognises the importance of promoting Nuclear Medicine Technology as a career choice.

The Society is actively involved in organising the Technologists Symposium. The symposium provides an opportunity for technologists to present and listen to case studies and papers on clinical practice and education and to share their experiences on a range of topics with their peers.


Executive Committee


Nicholas Daw
Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre


Karen Jones

Federal Council Representative
University of Adelaide

Emma Brook

Chair CPD-Education Working Group
Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

Pru Burns

Chair Technologist Workforce Advocacy Working Group
Wellington Regional Hospital